Status: Active Trial | Marker: FGFR

Title

Phase 1 study of the combination of rogaratinib with copanlisib in patients with FGFR-positive, locally advanced or metastatic solid tumors.

Study Number

NCT02974725

Indication

Dose escalation part: locally advanced or metastatic solid tumors that are mRNA-positive for at least one FGFR1-4 subtype.

Dose expansion part: locally advanced or metastatic urothelial carcinoma that is mRNA-positive for at least one FGFR1-4 subtype.

Primary objective

The primary objective of this study is to determine the safety, tolerability, and maximum tolerated dose (MTD) and/or recommended Phase 2 dose (RP2D) of rogaratinib in combination with copanlisib in patients with FGFR mRNApositive, locally advanced or metastatic solid tumors.

In- and exclusion Criteria

Inclusion criteria applicable to the dose escalation part:
Patients with histologically confirmed, locally advanced or metastatic solid tumors who are not candidates for or refuse standard therapy or whose disease progressed and for which standard anti-cancer treatment is no longer effective, excluding primary brain or spinal tumors.

Inclusion criteria applicable to the dose expansion part:
Patients with histologically confirmed, locally advanced or metastatic urothelial carcinoma (transitional cell carcinoma) including urinary bladder, renal pelvis, ureters, urethra who are not candidates for or refuse standard therapy or whose disease progressed and for which standard anticancer treatment is no longer effective, meeting all of the following criteria:
• Histologically confirmed
• Patients with mixed histology are required to have a dominant
transitional cell pattern.
• Locally advanced (T4, any N; or any T, N2-3) or metastatic disease
(any T, any N, and M1).
• Locally advanced bladder cancer must be unresectable i.e. invading the
pelvic or abdominal wall (stage T4b) or presenting with bulky nodal
disease (N2-3).

Exclusion Criteria:
Previous or concurrent cancer that is distinct from tumor for which the patient is enrolled in study, except
• curatively treated cervical carcinoma in situ
• treated basal-cell carcinoma
• localized prostate cancer treated with curative intent and known absence of prostate-specific antigen (PSA) relapse or incidental prostate cancer (T1/T2a, Gleason score ≤ 6, and PSA ≤ 10 ng/mL undergoing active surveillance and treatment-naïve)
• any cancer curatively treated > 3 years before planned start of study treatment.
• Ongoing or previous anti-cancer treatment within 4 weeks of study treatment start (or 6 weeks for mitomycin C, nitrosoureas and monoclonal antibodies)
• Previous radiotherapy is acceptable under the following conditions: Therapy completed more than 4 weeks before the baseline (at screening) scan, Patients must have recovered from all therapy-related toxicities, If the site of previous radiotherapy is the only site of disease, it should show evidence of disease progression.
• Prior local intra-vesical chemotherapy or prior local immunotherapy (e.g. with Bacillus Calmette-Guérin [BCG]) is allowed if completed at least 4 weeks before the first study treatment administration.
• Prior toxicity to anti-FGFR-directed or anti-PI3K-directed therapies leading to treatment discontinuation

Study design

This study is a Phase 1 open label, non-randomized, single arm, multicenter, 2-part dose escalation and dose expansion study of rogaratinib in combination with copanlisib in patients with FGFR mRNA-positive, locally advanced or metastatic solid tumors.

Responsibilities

Bayer AG, D-51368 Leverkusen, Germany

Trial Centre

University Hospital of Cologne
Dep. I of Internal Medicine
Phone: +49 221 478 87008
Fax: +49 221 478 87010
lungenkrebs@uk-koeln.de

Principal investigator

PD Dr. Lucia Nogova, MSc,

Last Update: 1. February 2019

Status: Aktive Studie | Marker: FGFR

Titel

Phase-I-Studie zur Kombination aus Rogaratinib und Copanlisib bei Patienten mit FGFR-positiven, lokal fortgeschrittenen oder metastasierten soliden Tumoren.

Zentrale Studiennummer
NCT02974725
Indikation

Dosiseskalationsteil: Lokal fortgeschrittene oder metastasierte solide Tumore, die für mindestens einen der FGFR-Subtypen 1-4 mRNA-positiv sind.

Dosisexpansionsteil: Lokal fortgeschrittenes oder metastasiertes Urothelkarzinom, das für mindestens einen der FGFR-Subtypen 1-4 mRNA-positiv ist.

Studienziel & Fragestellung

Primäres Studienziel ist die Beurteilung der Sicherheit, Verträglichkeit und Bestimmung der maximal verträglichen Dosis (Maximum Tolerated Dose, MTD) und/oder der empfohlenen Phase-II-Dosis (Recommended Phase 2 Dose, RP2D) von Rogaratinib in Kombination mit Copanlisib bei Patienten mit FGFR-mRNA-positiven, lokal fortgeschrittenen oder metastasierten soliden Tumoren.

Patientenmerkmale

Einschlusskriterien für den Dosiseskalationsteil:

Patienten mit histologisch gesicherten, lokal fortgeschrittenen oder metastasierten soliden Tumoren, für die eine Standardtherapie nicht mehr in Frage kommt, die eine solche verweigern oder deren Krankheit fortgeschritten ist und eine Standardtherapie nicht mehr wirksam ist. Patienten mit primärem Hirntumor oder spinalem Tumor können nicht teilnehmen.

Einschlusskriterien für den Dosisexpansionsteil:

Patienten mit histologisch gesichertem, lokal fortgeschrittenem oder metastasiertem Urothelkarzinom (Übergangszellkarzinom), einschließlich Karzinomen der Harnblase, Nierenbecken, Ureter und Urethra, für die eine Standardtherapie nicht in Frage kommt , die eine solche verweigern oder deren Krankheit fortgeschritten ist und eine Standardtherapie nicht mehr wirksam ist und folgende Kriterien erfüllen:
• Patienten mit gemischter Histologie müssen ein vorherrschendes Transitionalzellmuster aufweisen.
• Lokal fortgeschrittener Tumor (T4, jegliches N; oder jegliches T, N2-3) oder metastasierte Erkrankung (jegliches T, jegliches N und M1).

Ein lokal fortgeschrittenes Blasenkarzinom darf nicht resezierbar sein, d. h. es muss die Becken- oder Bauchwand befallen haben (Stadium T4b) oder einen ausgedehnten Lymphknotenbefall (Bulky Nodal Disease, N2-3) zeigen.

Wichtige Ausschlusskriterien, die für ALLE Patienten (Dosiseskalations- und Dosisexpansionsteil) gelten:

• Laufende oder frühere Krebstherapien innerhalb von 4 Wochen vor Beginn der Studienbehandlung (bzw. 6 Wochen bei Mitomycin C, Nitrosoharnstoffen und monoklonalen Antikörpern).
• Eine frühere Bestrahlung ist nur unter den folgenden Bedingungen zulässig: Die Therapie wurde mehr als 4 Wochen vor der Baseline-Bildgebung (Screening) beendet. Alle therapiebedingten toxischen Wirkungen sind abgeklungen. Wenn eine zuvor bestrahlte Stelle die einzige Tumorlokalisation ist, sollte Evidenz für eine Krankheitsprogression nach Bestrahlung vorliegen.
• Eine frühere lokale intravesikale Chemotherapie oder frühere lokale Immuntherapie (z. B mit dem Bacillus Calmette-Guérin [BCG]) ist erlaubt, sofern sie mindestens 4 Wochen vor der ersten Verabreichung der Studienbehandlung abgeschlossen wurde.
• Eine frühere Behandlung mit gegen FGFR oder PI3K gerichteten Arzneimitteln ist zulässig, sofern sie nicht aufgrund von toxischen Wirkungen abgebrochen wurde.
• Zweitkarzinom

Studiendesign
Es handelt sich um eine 2-teilige multizentrische, unverblindete, einarmige Phase-I-Studie mit einem Dosiseskalations- und einem Dosisexpansionsteil, in der die Kombination aus Rogaratinib und Copanlisib bei Patienten mit FGFR-mRNA-positiven, lokal fortgeschrittenen oder metastasierten soliden Tumoren untersucht wird.
Zuständigkeiten der Gesamtstudie

Bayer AG, D-51368 Leverkusen, Deutschland

Prüfzentrum

Universitätsklinikum Köln
Klinik I für Innere Medizin/LCGC
Telefon: +49 221 478 87008
Fax: +49 221 478 87010
lungenkrebs@uk-koeln.de

Leitender Prüfarzt

PD Dr. Lucia Nogova, MSc

Letzte Änderung: 1. Februar 2019